The Ventura County Retired Teachers Association

Scholarship Foundation

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Scholarships are awarded annually to deserving college students from Ventura County who are planning for careers in Education.

Are you interested in teaching as a career?


Scholarship Application Form – 2016


Application deadline: March 15 of each year

Recipients are notified before May 1 of each year

View the 2015 Awardees



Ventura County Retired Teachers Association Scholarship Foundation


2013 – 2016

John Pearson

President 2014-2016

John retired from Thousand Oaks High School and was elected to serve as President beginning July 1, 2014.

Don and Agatha Miller

Past President _ Corr.Secretary

Don and Agatha came to CalRTA from the Oxnard and Pleasant Valley School Districts. They have both been active with the Scholarship Foundation for over 20 years.  They  retired from their positions on June 30, 2014.

Norma B. VanRiper


Norma has been a Life Member of CalRTA for many years and is a new director for the Scholarship Foundation.

Nell K. Bailey


Nell retired from the Ventura Unified School District in 1984 and has been active in CalRTA since that time. She joined the Foundation in 1999.

Hazan Samaniego

Former Director

Sammy continues to help the Foundation especially at the Division meetings.

Natalie Guyton

Director Emeritus

Natalie will continue to help the Foundation.

Paul Steen


Paul retired from the Oxnard Union High School District and replaced Don Miller as Treasurer.

Dick Mahlke

Recording Secretary

Dick retired from the Pleasant Valley School District where many members knew him as an administrator.  Dick is continuing in his position as the Recording Secretary.

Donald L. Seidler


Don came to CalRTA after retiring from teaching science at Bamberg High School in West Germany.  Many remember him as the Principal of Frontier High in Camarillo. Click to see a more recent photo.

C. Richard Meuse


Bud has been a Life Member of CalRTA since 1987 as well as a major benefactor of and worker with the Foundation.

Joyce Carraway


Joyce joined the Foundation in 2014


Beverly Pearson

V.P./ Chair of Scholarship Selections Committee

Beverly retired from Moorpark College. Beverly will continue serving as the Vice President and Chair of the Scholarship Selections Committee.

Stan Daily


Stan was elected to the first City Council of the City of Camarillo when the City was created in 1964, retired from teaching  in 1995 and from the City of Camarillo in 1998. As the longest serving Mayor of the City of Camarillo  the Council awarded him the official title of “Mayor Emeritus, City of Camarillo”.  Stan will continue in his role of Parliamentarian.

Linda Dawson


Linda has served on the Board of this Foundation since 2001. She has served as President of  Division 28 and also as Director of Area VII.

Janet V. Parker


Janet was a teacher of business courses at Thousand Oaks High School  prior to becoming their librarian.  She  became active in CalRTA in 1998 while still working, became the Medical Librarian at the Ventura County Medical Center soon after ‘retiring’ and joined the Foundation in 2015.

John T. Reardon


Coach Reardon is the proud grandfather of ten as well as the retired Head Coach of Rio Mesa High.  We are fortunate to have him working with the Scholarship Foundation.

Ann C. Slatten


Ann joined the Foundation in 2014 after many years in leadership positions with CalRTA.